# 100 European family office decision-makers — methodology and README

Last reviewed: **2026-08-18**
Research activity window: **2024-08-18 through 2026-08-18**

## What this dataset is

This is a research shortlist of 100 publicly identifiable European family-capital decision-makers whose organizations show a recent investment, fund commitment, acquisition, portfolio update, financing participation, or a current active allocation mandate. It is designed as a starting point for institutional research, not as a real-time transaction ledger or a claim that every person is actively accepting approaches today.

“Writing cheques right now” is shorthand, used throughout this write-up, for evidence of organizational investment activity during the 24-month review window or an undated, current official mandate that was live when accessed on 2026-08-18. A blank `activity_announcement_date` means the support is a current mandate or portfolio page rather than a dated announcement. Year-only dates are deliberately left at year precision; they should not be interpreted as a known day or month.

The list is ranked by evidence strength and fit for this brief, not by assets under management, personal wealth, cheque size, probability of investment, or commercial suitability. More than one person may appear for an organization when each has a distinct, independently evidenced investment or governance role.

## Important organization-versus-person caveat

The evidence generally establishes two separate facts: a named person holds a public professional investment, executive, ownership, or governance role; and the organization has an active or recent allocation signal. It does **not** prove that the named person personally approved, signed, originated, or can unilaterally authorize a particular cheque. It also does not infer personal signing limits, ticket sizes, current appetite, availability, or interest where those details are not publicly disclosed. Read `evidence_summary` together with `limitations_or_caveats` before using any record.

The scope includes conventional single-family offices as well as clearly labeled family investment companies, family-controlled holdings, family foundations, family-backed venture investors, and multi-family or wealth platforms with evidenced private-market activity. `allocator_type` preserves those distinctions; do not describe every row as a conventional single-family office.

## Evidence tiers

- **Tier 1 (62 records):** strongest fit in this dataset. Public evidence supports the person’s current role together with a named recent transaction or commitment, or especially strong current portfolio reporting. An undated active mandate on its own is generally not Tier 1.
- **Tier 2 (33 records):** credible fit with one meaningful limitation. This tier generally includes current-mandate-only records and may also include portfolio reporting without a named transaction, reliance on a secondary role or activity source, or limited public governance detail.
- **Tier 3 (5 records):** usable research leads with a material classification, authority, or sourcing caveat. These records require fresh re-verification before outreach or publication.

A tier is an evidence and fit assessment, not an investment recommendation or quality rating.

## Inclusion criteria

A record was included when the public record supported all of the following:

1. The investing organization is based in Europe or operates as a European family-capital allocator.
2. The organization can reasonably be classified as one of the allocator types retained in `allocator_type`.
3. A named person has a current public professional role relevant to investment selection, ownership, executive allocation, or governance.
4. There is a public allocation signal within the 24-month window, or a current undated official investment mandate or portfolio page reviewed on 2026-08-18.
5. At least one role source and one activity source are retained, with limitations stated when evidence is indirect or incomplete.

## Exclusion criteria

Candidates were excluded when they lacked a named decision-maker, had no adequately current allocation signal or current mandate, could not be tied to family capital, were merely wealth-list entries, relied on private or personal contact data, or had conflicts and gaps too substantial for the final 100. Public asset managers and investment companies without a supported family-capital connection were not included solely because they invest in private markets.

## Files in the download

- `100-european-family-office-decision-makers.csv` — the 100-record research dataset.
- `100-european-family-office-decision-makers-source-log.csv` — one row per unique retained evidence URL, with its linked record IDs, source classification, and access date.
- `README.md` — this methodology, included inside the ZIP. The website also publishes the same text as `100-european-family-office-decision-makers-methodology.md`.

Arrays in both CSV files are serialized as compact JSON arrays, for example `["direct","fund LP"]`. CSV values are UTF-8 and RFC 4180-compatible. To reduce spreadsheet formula-injection risk, a text value whose first non-whitespace character is `=`, `+`, `-`, or `@` is prefixed with an apostrophe in the CSV export. The JSON dataset preserves the canonical values and types.

## Main CSV data dictionary

| Column | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `rank` | Evidence-and-fit ordering from 1 to 100. |
| `record_id` | Stable dataset identifier for the person/organization record. |
| `organization_name` | Public name of the investing organization. |
| `website` | Organization’s public website when one was retained; blank when none was available. This is not always a cited evidence page. |
| `city` | Publicly associated office city. |
| `country` | Publicly associated European country. |
| `allocator_type` | Normalized description of the family-capital structure. |
| `decision_maker_name` | Publicly named professional or family principal. |
| `current_title` | Current public professional title as reviewed. |
| `role_category` | Normalized role classification. |
| `role_source_url` | Evidence URL for the person’s role. |
| `role_last_verified` | Date the role evidence was last checked. |
| `investment_modes` | JSON array of evidenced modes, such as direct investment or fund LP. |
| `asset_classes` | JSON array of relevant asset classes. |
| `stages` | JSON array of publicly stated company or fund stages; empty when not disclosed. |
| `sectors` | JSON array of publicly stated sector interests; empty when not disclosed. |
| `preferred_geographies` | JSON array of publicly stated geographic preferences; empty when not disclosed. |
| `recent_activity_type` | Normalized category for the retained allocation signal. |
| `investment_or_fund_name` | Named company, fund, or set of examples when the source supports it; blank otherwise. |
| `activity_announcement_date` | Published date at the precision supported by the source; blank for current undated mandate evidence. |
| `activity_source_url` | Evidence URL for recent activity or the current mandate. |
| `evidence_tier` | Evidence/fit tier from 1 (strongest) to 3 (material caveat). |
| `evidence_summary` | Concise synthesis of the retained public evidence. |
| `limitations_or_caveats` | Record-specific warning about evidence, classification, recency, or authority. |
| `official_contact_url` | Organization-published professional contact page only; blank when none was retained. |
| `record_last_reviewed` | Date the full record was last checked. |

## Source-log data dictionary

| Column | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `source_id` | Stable identifier for the unique URL row. |
| `url` | Retained public evidence URL. |
| `source_host` | Hostname used for source review. |
| `source_types` | JSON array describing how the source entered the regional research. |
| `evidence_scope` | JSON array describing what the source supports. |
| `related_record_ids` | JSON array linking the URL to records in the main dataset. |
| `authority` | High-level distinction between official and secondary/public-record sources. |
| `accessed_on` | Date the source was accessed or rechecked. |

## Privacy, use, and corrections

Only public professional information and organization-level evidence are included. The files contain no private email addresses, private phone numbers, home addresses, personal social handles, or inferred personal contact details. A public professional profile may appear only when it supports a role or activity claim and its limitations are disclosed.

Public pages change, titles move, and investment mandates evolve. Recheck the cited sources before publication or outreach, comply with applicable privacy, marketing, and data-protection law, and use respectful institutional channels. Inclusion is not an endorsement, recommendation, solicitation, or representation of investment intent. If a record is inaccurate, outdated, or should be corrected or removed, contact Tau AI through the contact channel published on get-tau.com and include the relevant `record_id` plus supporting information.
